Oct 10, 2019
California AG Drops Proposed CCPA Regulations
Last month, the California legislature passed several bills to amend the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) and adopt a sister law regulating data brokers. The governor has [...]
Recent changes in Ohio law make it illegal for chiropractors and certain health practitioners to contact individuals immediately after an automobile accident or crime. The law marks a substantial change for many health practitioners who derive a large amount of business from direct solicitation of individuals.
The law mandates that practitioners must wait at least 30 days to contact an individual involved in an auto accident or a victim of crime. Methods of prohibited contact within the 30-day window include call, text, and email. However, the law permits contact within 30 days if the solicitation is sent via the U.S. Postal Service.
Violations of the law carry fines of $5,000 for each violation, and a $25,000 fine for each subsequent violation may be imposed if validated. Additionally, repeat offenders may lose their license after three separate violations.
With the threat of substantial fines and potential license revocation, chiropractors and other health care practitioners should ensure compliance with advertising and solicitation regulations by working with experienced counsel that can advise on all compliance requirements.